SB 52 the House of Representatives passed today

03/22/2017 6:34 PM | Gale Macke (Administrator)

Today, March 22, 2017 the House of Representatives voted 140 to 23 in support of SB 52 which removed the “sunset” provision on LPCs right to be included, permanently in the list of providers (MD, Psychiatric, Psychologist, Social Workers, and psy nurses) to sign an Involuntary Emergency Transport form (called the 10-13 for MH and the 20-13 for substance abuse). This form allows a person who is in danger of harm to themselves or others to be transported to the nearest receiving facility for an mental health evaluation.
If the “sunset” was not removed, LPCs would have been removed from the list on July 1, 2018.

The Senate Bill 52 is on its way to Governor Deal for his signature.
Did you know our Governor Deal, when he Congressman Deal in Washington DC, was the sponsor, not a co-signer but The Sponsor of all our mental health bills?

Please take a minute to email a “Thank you” to our sponsors for supporting you and mental health:
Senator P.K. Martin P.K.Martin@senate.ga.gov

Senator Renee’ Unterman Renee.Unterman@senate.ga.gov
Senator Ben Watson (MD – surgeon, Savannah) ben.watson@senate.ga.gov
Senator Jeff Mullis jeff.mullis@senate.ga.gov
Senator Dean Burke Dean.Burke@senate.ga.gov
Senator John Kennedy John.Kennedy@senate.ga.gov
Representative Katie Dempsey katie.dempsey@house.ga.gov

A Special Thank you to our Lobbyist Ms. Julianna McConnell, who has been at the capitol every day for several years now, working to bring you parity!

Thank you to all the LPCA Past Presidents, who have worked on this legislation for 30 years! Today is a great day to celebrate being a Licensed Profession Counselor and for being fully recognized as important part of the health care system.


LPCA Sponsors & Partners

 

    
 

© Copyright 2016 LPCA-GA
Licensed Professional Counselors Association of Georgia, Inc.  (LPCA-GA). 3091 Governors Lake Drive NW, STE 570, Norcross, GA 30071
Phone - 770-449-4547 | Fax line - 404-370-0006 | Email: LPCA@mindspring.com

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software